Page last updated
Mon 06 May 2024

The Freshwater Mussels (Unionoida) of the World (and other less consequential bivalves)

FM(U)otW(aolcb) is the web version of the MUSSEL Project Database. Follow the links to browse the data or use the custom Google search field. Either way, you win!

This page documents data for Prié et al. (2023), such as genera and species attributed to that publication (including known misspellings, misidentifications, and other unavailable names) as well as taxonomic opinions, if available. Taxonomic opinions refer to uses of genera and species as valid and invalid in that work.

Search the database pages:

Publication information

Prié, V., A. Danet, A. Valentini, M. Lopes-Lima, P. Taberlet et al. 2023. Conservation assessment based on large-scale monitoring of eDNA: Application to freshwater mussels. Biological Conservation 283, 110089: 1-11.

Click here for online access.

Taxonomic Opinions

Anodonta anatina (Linnaeus, 1758)

Anodonta cygnea (Linnaeus, 1758)

Anodonta exulcerata Porro, 1838

Dreissena polymorpha (Pallas, 1771)

Dreissena rostriformis bugensis (Andrusov, 1897)

Euglesa casertana (Poli, 1791)

Euglesa compressa (Prime, 1852)

Euglesa globularis (Clessin, 1873)

Euglesa henslowana (Sheppard, 1813)

Euglesa hibernica (Westerlund, 1894)

Euglesa lilljeborgii (Clessin, 1886)

Euglesa milium (Held, 1836)

Euglesa nitida (Jenyns, 1832)

Euglesa obtusalis (Lamarck, 1818)

Euglesa personata (Malm, 1855)

Euglesa pseudosphaerium (J. Favre, 1927)

Euglesa pulchella (Jenyns, 1832)

Euglesa subtruncata (Malm, 1855)

Euglesa supina (A. Schmidt, 1851)

Margaritifera margaritifera (Linnaeus, 1758)

Odhneripisidium conventus (Clessin, 1877)

Odhneripisidium moitessierianum (Paladilhe, 1866)

Odhneripisidium tenuilineatum (Stelfox, 1918)

Pisidium amnicum (O.F. Müller, 1774)

Potomida littoralis (Cuvier, 1798)

Pseudanodonta complanata (Rossmässler, 1835)

Pseudunio auricularius (Spengler, 1793)

Sinanodonta woodiana (Lea, 1834)

Sphaerium corneum (Linnaeus, 1758)

Sphaerium lacustre (O.F. Müller, 1774)

Sphaerium nucleus (S. Studer, 1820)

Sphaerium ovale (A. Férussac, 1807)

Sphaerium rivicola (Lamarck, 1818)

Sphaerium solidum (Normand, 1844)

Sphaerium transversum (Say, 1829)

Unio crassus Philipsson, 1788

Unio mancus Lamarck, 1819

Unio pictorum Linnaeus, 1758

Unio tumidus Philipsson, 1788

Page updated: 09:19:20 Mon 06 May 2024

NSF icon MUSSEL icon
"Making the world a better place, one mollusk at a time."