Unionoida cum Grano Salis

Page last updated
10 November 2014

Unionoida cum Grano Salis

Afrotropical Region

Afrotropical SubregionsThe Afrotropical Region is composed of Sub-Saharan Africa as well as the Nile Basin and Madagascar. The rest of northern Africa is considered to be part of the Palearctic Region. At total of 79 species are known from the Afrotropical Region, in three families: Unionidae, Iridinidae and Etheriidae.

The Afrotropical region is divided into six subregions based upon the distributions of the freshwater mussels. The Nile Subregion (AF1; 26 spp.) extends from the Delta on the Mediterranean to the giant lakes Victoria, Albert and Edward. The Western Subregion (AF2; 19 spp.) includes the Niger, Chad-Chari, Senegal and other basins, and it has a mussel fauna that is quite similar to that of the Nile. The Congo Subregion (AF3; 34 spp.) includes not only the Congo Drainage but the watersheds south of the Niger and Chari basins. The freshwater mussel diversity of the Southern Subregin (AF4; 16 spp.) is highest in the Zambezi and decreases to the south. The Eastern Subregion (AF4; 4 spp.) is composed of the coastal streams of eastern Africa and is relatively depauperate.

Only two species are believed to occur in the Madagascar Subregion (AF6.) Historically, a few more species had been recognized from the Mascarene Islands, but those records have been shown to be dubius as best.

These tallies are based upon some of our own revisionary work. More information can be found on other web pages on this site. The freshwater mussels of Madagascar page reviews the available data on this poorly understood assemblage.

Nile Subregion (AF1)
  1. Aspatharia chaiziana
  2. Aspatharia divaricata
  3. Aspatharia marnoi
  4. Chambardia bourguignati
  5. Chambardia letourneuxi
  6. Chambardia rubens
  7. Chambardia trapezia
  8. Chambardia wahlbergi
  9. Coelatura aegyptiaca
  10. Coelatura alluaudi
  11. Coelatura bakeri
  12. Coelatura cridlandi
  13. Coelatura hauttecoeuri
  14. Coelatura rothschildi
  15. Coelatura stuhlmanni
  16. Etheria elliptica
  17. Mutela alluaudi
  18. Mutela bourguignati
  19. Mutela dubia
  20. Mutela rostrata
  21. Nitia acuminata
  22. Nitia chefneuxi
  23. Nitia monceti
  24. Nitia teretiuscula
  25. Unio abyssinicus
  26. Unio mancus
Western Subregion (Af2)
  1. Aspatharia chaiziana
  2. spatharia dahomeyensis
  3. Aspatharia droueti
  4. Aspatharia pangallensis
  5. Aspatharia pfeifferiana
  6. Aspatharia rochebrunei
  7. Chambardia rubens
  8. Chambardia wahlbergi
  9. Chambardia wissmanni
  10. Coelatura aegyptiaca
  11. Coelatura essoensis
  12. Etheria elliptica
  13. Mutela dubia
  14. Mutela franci
  15. Mutela joubini
  16. Mutela rostrata
  17. Nitia mutelaeformis
  18. Nitia teretiuscula
  19. Pleiodon ovatus
Congo Subregion (AF3)
  1. Aspatharia ganciniensis
  2. Aspatharia pfeifferiana
  3. Aspatharia rugifera
  4. Brazzaea anceyi
  5. Chambardia flava
  6. Chambardia nyassaensis
  7. Chambardia wissmanni
  8. Chelidonopsis hirundo
  9. Coelatura briarti
  10. Coelatura choziensis
  11. Coelatura disciformis
  12. Coelatura gabonensis
  13. Coelatura horei
  14. Coelatura kipopoensis
  15. Coelatura leopoldvillensis
  16. Coelatura lobensis
  17. Coelatura luapulaensis
  18. Coelatura stagnorum
  19. Etheria elliptica
  20. Grandidieria burtoni
  21. Moncetia anceyi
  22. Mutela dubia
  23. Mutela hargeri
  24. Mutela joubini
  25. Mutela langi
  26. Mutela legumen
  27. Mutela mabilli
  28. Mutela rostrata
  29. Mutela soleniformis
  30. Nyassunio ujijiensis
  31. Pleiodon spekii
  32. Prisodontopsis aviculaeformis
  33. Prisodontopsis mweruensis
  34. Pseudospatha tanganyicensis
Southern Subregion (AF4)
  1. Aspatharia rugifera
  2. Aspatharia subreniformis
  3. Chambardia moutai
  4. Chambardia nyassaensis
  5. Chambardia petersi
  6. Chambardia wahlbergi
  7. Chambardia welwitschii
  8. Coelatura hypsiprymna
  9. Coelatura kunenensis
  10. Coelatura mossambicensis
  11. Etheria elliptica
  12. Mutela alata
  13. Mutela wistarmorrisi
  14. Mutela zambesiensis
  15. Nyassunio nyassaensis
  16. Unio caffer
Eastern Subregion (AF5)
  1. Chambardia wahlbergi
  2. Coelatura mossambicensis
  3. Coelatura ratidota
  4. Etheria elliptica
Madagascar Subregion (AF6)
  1. Etheria elliptica
  2. Germainaia geayi


NSF icon MUSSEL icon
"Making the world a better place, one mollusk at a time."