Unionoida cum Grano Salis

Page last updated
11 November 2014

Unionoida cum Grano Salis

Palearctic Region

Palearctic Subregions

Palearctica extends from the British and Irish Isles and northern Africa to Siberia and Japan. We currently recognize only 57 species from that whole region. However, as we have discussed elsewhere, malacologists using the Comparatory Method have estimated a significantly higher diversity. The Palearctic assemblage is represented by two families: Unionidae and Margaritiferidae.

The Palearctic is divided among five subregions. The Europe Subregion (PA1; 20 spp.) extends from the Atlantic to the Ural Mountains, including northern Africa. The Middle East Subregion (PA2; 11 spp.) is composed of the streams of the Levant and the Tigris-Euphrates System. The large, relatively depauperate (3 spp.) internal basins of Central Asia and middle Russia form the Central Subregion (PA3). The Amur-Beringia Subregion (PA4; 18 spp.) includes the Amur River, Primorye, Korea, and northern China to Magadan and Kamchatka. On the Pacific side, the Japan-Sakhalin Subregion (PA5; 16 spp.) includes all the islands of Japan, Sakhalin Island and the southern Kurils.

Click here to find more information about problems associated with estimating Palearctic freshwater mussel diveristy.


Europe Subregion (PA1)
  1. Anodonta anatina
  2. Anodonta cygnea
  3. Margaritifera auricularia
  4. Margaritifera margaritifera
  5. Margaritifera marocana
  6. Microcondylaea compressa
  7. Potomida littoralis
  8. Pseudanodonta complanata
  9. Pseudanodonta elongata
  10. Pseudanodonta middendorffi
  11. Sinanodonta woodiana
  12. Unio crassus
  13. Unio delphinus
  14. Unio durieui
  15. Unio gibbus
  16. Unio mancus
  17. Unio pictorum
  18. Unio ravoisieri
  19. Unio tumidiformis
  20. Unio tumidus
Middle East Subregion (PA2)
  1. Anodonta pseudodopsis
  2. Anodonta vescoiana
  3. Leguminaia saulcyi
  4. Leguminaia wheatleyi
  5. Margaritifera homsensis
  6. Potomida littoralis
  7. Pseudodontopsis euphraticus
  8. Unio crassus
  9. Unio mancus
  10. Unio terminalis
  11. Unio tigridis
Central Subregion (PA3)
  1. Anodonta anatina
  2. Anodonta cyrea
  3. Sinanodonta woodiana
Amur-Beringia Subregion (PA4)
  1. Anemina arcaeformis
  2. Anemina euscaphys
  3. Anodonta beringiana
  4. Cristaria beirensis
  5. Cristaria plicata
  6. Inversidens pantoensis
  7. Inversiunio verrucosus
  8. Lamprotula coreana
  9. Lamprotula gottschei
  10. Lanceolaria acrorrhyncha
  11. Lanceolaria cylindrica
  12. Margaritifera dahurica
  13. Margaritifera middendorffi
  14. Nodularia douglasiae
  15. Nodularia mongolica
  16. Pronodularia seomjinensis
  17. Sinanodonta woodiana
  18. Solenaia triangularis
Japan-Sakhalin Subregion (PA5)
  1. Anemina arcaeformis
  2. Cristaria plicata
  3. Hyriopsis schlegelii
  4. Inversidens brandtii
  5. Inversiunio jokohamensis
  6. Inversiunio reinianus
  7. Inversiunio yanagawensis
  8. Lanceolaria oxyrhyncha
  9. Margaritifera dahurica
  10. Margaritifera laevis
  11. Margaritifera togakushiensis
  12. Nodularia douglasiae
  13. Pronodularia japanensis
  14. Pseudodon omiensis
  15. Sinanodonta ogurae
  16. Sinanodonta woodiana
NSF icon MUSSEL icon
"Making the world a better place, one mollusk at a time."