Unionoida cum Grano Salis

Page last updated
10 November 2014

Unionoida cum Grano Salis

Australasian Region

Australasian SubregionsThe Australasian Region includes Australia, New Guinea and New Zealand. Only 30 species are currently recognized in the region in two families: Hyriidae and Unionidae.

We divide the Australasian Region into four subregions that largely correspond to areas of freshwater mussel endemism. The Eastern Subregion (AU1; 14 spp.) includes much of the eastern half of Australia (including Tasmania); the Western Subregion (AU2; 6 spp.) is the western half of that continent. New Guinea (AU3; 12 spp.) has a somewhat diverse freshwater mussel fauna (especially considering the amount of suitable habitat), but that assemblage is poorly understood. The subregion includes Misool and the Solomons islands. Finally, there is New Zealand (AU4; 5 species).

Eastern Subregion (AU1)
  1. Alathyria condola
  2. Alathyria jacksoni
  3. Alathyria pertexta
  4. Alathyria profuga
  5. Cucumerunio novaehollandiae
  6. Hyridella australis
  7. Hyridella depressa
  8. Hyridella drapeta
  9. Hyridella glenelgensis
  10. Hyridella narracanensis
  11. Velesunio ambiguus
  12. Velesunio angasi
  13. Velesunio moretonicus
  14. Velesunio wilsonii
Western Subregion (AU2)
  1. Lortiella froggatti
  2. Lortiella opertanea
  3. Lortiella rugata
  4. Velesunio angasi
  5. Velesunio wilsonii
  6. Westralunio carteri
New Guinea Subregion (AU3)
  1. Alathyria pertexta
  2. Haasodonta fannyae
  3. Haasodonta vanheurni
  4. Hyridella guppyi
  5. Hyridella misoolensis
  6. Microdontia anodontaeformis
  7. Velesunio sentaniensis
  8. Velesunio wilsonii
  9. Virgus beccarianus
  10. Westralunio albertisi
  11. Westralunio flyensis
New Zealand Subregion (AU4)
  1. Echyridella aucklandica
  2. Echyridella menziesii
  3. Echyridella onekaka
NSF icon MUSSEL icon
"Making the world a better place, one mollusk at a time."